Giving Back – November

This is a week for giving. On Thursday, those of us who live in the US will be celebrating the annual Thanksgiving holiday, a time to gather with family and friends, to feast on turkey, stuffing, gravy, cranberries, sweet potatoes, and delicious pumpkins pies.

For me, the holiday celebration will begin a little early. Today. It’s my birthday, you see. Those who know me well already know that I was actually born on Thanksgiving. Yeah, folks, I’m a natural-born turkey.

Of course, Thanksgiving and my birthday don’t always coincide, although they’re never more than a few days apart. So, every year on my birthday, instead of getting presents, I like to count all the blessings I’ve already been given and look for ways to give back to others.

As an author, I’ve always celebrated the written word. I’m profoundly grateful for my ability to read and for the loving grandfather who patiently taught me as a child.

Unfortunately, not every child has that advantage. Even more unfortunate is the fact that not all parents understand the importance of reading, especially with very young children.

Reach Out and Read is an organization that is working to promote early childhood literacy. Their mission is to prepare America’s youngest children to succeed in school — and in life — by partnering with the medical community to prescribe books and to encourage families to spend time reading together.

  • In pediatric exam rooms, trained doctors and nurses speak with parents about the importance of reading aloud.
  • At each regular checkup from 6 months through 5 years of age, the child receives a new book to take home.
  • Parents become more engaged and read to their children more often.

From their website:

The program serves more than 4 million children and their families across the nation, with a special emphasis on serving those in low-income communities. Families served by Reach Out and Read read together more often, and their children enter kindergarten with larger vocabularies and stronger language skills, better prepared to achieve their potential in school and beyond.

As a way of giving back, I’m pledging to become a “Book Buddy” and donate to Reach Out and Read on a monthly basis. In addition, I’m also going to ask for your support — not monetary support, but your encouragement and your belief that literacy is important for children today.

Please leave a comment on this post expressing your support. For each comment received, I will donate an additional $1.00 toward the Reach Out and Read Book Drive. Donation will be sent on December 1, and the donated amount from comments will be used to purchase books. This first gift will be book/s for Age 6-12 months.

123

All comments will be appreciated. As a community of authors and readers, let’s show our support and encourage the truly priceless gift of reading.

7 Comments

  1. Absolutely agree. My first books were Milly Molly Mandy, Anne of Green Gables and Enid Blyton ones. Sending me into a world that knew no bounds. My 7 yr old daughter is an avid reader too. Have a wonderful birthday xxxxxxx

  2. What a wonderful cause! Some of my earliest childhood memories are of books and my parents telling me stories. I really believe it gave me a huge advantage when starting school to have that foundation in place already. Not to mention that early love of reading has stayed with me my whole life.
    Think it’s lovely that you’re giving back – have a wonderful birthday xx

  3. Mandy Honea

    This is an awesome program. My daughter lover to to read! We have a great program in Tennessee that Dolly Pardon does for the the kids to age five. When they are born they get a book. And a every month till the age of five! My daughter loved getting them every month now at the age of eight she has two selves full of books that she lover to read. Thank you for sharing this.

  4. What an amazing program. Thanks for sharing this Christina!

  5. What a wonderful program. I’d never heard of it before but I do believe that books and reading can open new worlds for children. My parents were so influential in nurturing my love for reading when I was a child and I am forever grateful for that gift. I like the way you said the medical community “prescribes a book.” What great medicine! 🙂

  6. Happy Birthday to you and Happy Thanksgiving too. I love that you count your blessings and that you are giving back via books! How wonderful! I am definitely going to follow your blog ~ thanks for pingback because I’m so happy we’ve connected!

Trackbacks

  1. Thank You from Reach Out and Read | Seasons of Love

Leave a Reply

