The Misadventures of Pann Haggerty – Excerpts

Today, Amanda is sharing a few excerpts from The Misadventures of Pann Haggerty, her story of a woman in search of new experiences.

Enjoy!  

Remember to enter Amanda’s  giveaway for a chance to win an ebook copy of  The Misadventures of Pann Haggerty. Just click the link below.

Amanda’s Giveaway – The Misadventures of Pann Haggerty

Misadventures of Pann Haggerty Amanda Ward

* * * *

“Pann, I have travelled around this country so many times that I know it like the back of my hand,” he told her. “Who else to show you around this country but someone who lives here? I know where to find the best seafood in Maine, for instance.” Pann’s eyes widened. “Chicken fried steak and gravy in South Carolina. Look, Pann, I know we only just met, but ever since you told me about your trip, well when I went home and I didn’t want to be there. I wanted to do something completely different. Until today, I had never done anything on impulse.”

Pann had an inkling about what was coming.

“You told me about your RV. Has it got two beds?” Joe asked. Pann nodded.

“Look, I promise,” Joe crossed his heart and pulled out a heavy gold cross on a long chain. “No funny business. I will keep to my side of the van, pay my way. Show you how to drive on our side of the road. If you’ll let me come with you. As your friend. Just friends.” He finished in a rush. “There it is. Out in the open. Your call.”

He said it. Could she trust him? Looking into his amber brown eyes, she could see a hint of loneliness there and her heart melted.

“You do your own laundry?” Pann insisted. No way was she going to pick up dirty underpants ever again—well, apart from her own, of course.

“Absolutely.”

 * * * *

Joe came back up on deck after changing into a clean pair of dark brown chinos and a T-shirt with the Union Jack on the front. He felt rather guilty that he had to speak to Pann in such a tone, and hoped what he was wearing would make amends. Joe stopped when he saw her against the railing. Unguarded, the facade of frippery and carelessness had lifted, exposing for one moment the real Pandora Haggerty. The sunlight glinted on the tear sliding down her cheek. He reined in the urge to go and comfort her, but caught a glimpse of what Pann was staring at. A couple about their age were at the front of the ferry. The man had his arms around his wife and he was nuzzling her neck, making her laugh softly. Joe could only watch helplessly as Pann shook her head, dislodging the tears. She turned away from the couple, tilting her face up towards the sun. Sucking in a deep breath, Joe wondered what he could say to make her smile. Doing his usual it’s a bit awkward thing of running his hands through his hair and shoving them into the trouser pockets, he released the breath on a whoosh, ambling over to where Pann was standing, still looking up at the azure sky.

* * * *

The door opened. Pann came in covered in snow. Her eyes sparkled with joy, and her nose was bright red.

“Well hello, Rudolph,” Joe grinned. Pann’s face had mischief written all over it. She walked over to him. She gave Joe a hug and put a snowball down his back.

“Pann, you little witch,” Joe yelled. Icy water dripped down his back. He was desperate to retaliate, but instead he stalked off to his bedroom.

“I’m going to get changed. You can dish up dinner,” Joe told her. On the outside he was shivering, but on the inside he was laughing. Only Pandora Haggerty would have the balls to put a snowball down his back.

When Joe came out, dressed in another jumper, their meal was laid out on the table. A steaming mound of pastry oozing with steak, kidney and thick glossy brown gravy. There was a large scoopful of fluffy mashed potato and some sort of green vegetable on the plate. Pann had poured them a glass of red wine each and she was sitting at the table sipping her wine, the picture of innocence.

* * * *

I want to thank Amanda for being my guest author at Seasons of Love. 

Tomorrow, I’ll be announcing the winner of her giveaway, plus sharing links on where to buy The Misadventures of Pann Haggerty and how to contact Amanda.

I’ll definitely have to add The Misadventures of Pann Haggerty to my “TBR” list. She’s a delightful lady — and so is the author. I’m sure the story will be a most enjoyable read. 

Thank you, again, Amanda Ward, for being my guest this week.  

2 Comments

  1. I’m glad I checked this series of guest posts out. The book sounds like lots of fun to read and a keen eye for prejudices as well as emotions.

    • Glad you came over to Seasons of Love, Devika. Yes, Amanda’s book sounds like a fun read, for sure. 🙂

Leave a Reply

