Rescue My Heart by Jean Joachim

You knew it all along, didn’t you! Yes, our featured author this week is Jean Joachim. She’s here to share one of her “Manhattan Dinner Club” titles.

Rescue My Heart

Rescue My Heart

While walking her pug in Central Park, Rory Sampson is run down by a bike. She presses charges against smug biker, Dr. Hack Roberts, veterinarian. Horrified at the surprising sentence from the judge, Hack plans his revenge. But a sharp-tongued, sassy writer will never let him get the upper hand. Will rescuing pugs together calm their feuding and fighting?

 

Jean says,

I admit I have a grudge against the callous, selfish, and dangerous bikers in Central Park. Those feelings sowed the seeds for this story. But as the tale evolved, I found myself bringing animal rescue, specifically the saving of homeless pugs, into the story. I volunteered for a pug rescue organization for five years, and it’s a cause that is near to my heart. I wanted to paint a realistic picture of dog rescue; not just the heart-warming side, but also the truth – that volunteers can’t save every dog. This story became a favorite of mine as I wrote the unlikely love story of two opposites.

* * * *

Jean is giving away an ebook this week. One lucky winner can choose a title from any of Jean’s “Manhattan Dinner Club” releases. For a chance to win, please leave a comment on this post. Be sure to include your email address. You’ll be entered for a chance to win Jean’s giveaway and you’ll also be added to the subscriber list for Jean’s upcoming newsletter. You can enter once each day by visiting and commenting on each post. Contest closes Sunday, April 6, at 7:00 AM CSDT.

Tomorrow, Jean will be back to tell us more about Rescue My Heart, and on Friday she’ll share a few thoughts about a cause that near and dear to her heart. We might even persuade her to share a picture of Homer, her pug.

Be sure to visit each day. Until tomorrow, I’ll leave you with another little “snippet” from the story.

“You’ve ruined my life.”

Leave a Reply

