A Word about Pug Rescue by Jean Joachim

A Word about Pug Rescue

by Jean Joachim

 

Homer 1The five years I spent volunteering for a pug rescue outfit are years I’ll never forget. There were many moments of pure joy when we saved a pug and placed one with a good home – a perfect match. There were also times of great frustration and sorrow when I learned that you can’t save every pug.

Pugs play an integral part in every book in my Manhattan Dinner Club series. I find them charming, funny, loyal, affection creatures who make wonderful companions. We’ve had our rescue pug, Homer, for ten years. I hope the story encourages others to volunteer for dog rescue. There are many ways to volunteer:

  1. Becoming a foster parent to a pug who needs a temporary home
  2. Vetting a family, doing a home visit to ensure the pug is being placed in the right “forever” home
  3. Fund-raising
  4. Transporting pugs to foster and forever homes

 

Homer 2In the back of each book in this series will be a listing of pug rescue websites across the country, for those interesting in investigating joining. I hope the story will pique readers’ interest in pug rescue while providing a satisfying romance.

 * * * * *

Jean will be back tomorrow with excerpts from Rescue My Heart.

Have you entered her giveaway yet?

Prize: One Ebook from her “Manhattan Dinner Club” series

To enter, leave a comment on this post. Be sure to include your email address. Jean will enter you in the drawing and will include you as a subscriber to her upcoming newsletter.

And now, for another “snippet”…

“I’d almost rather go to jail.”

 

1 Comment

  1. I just discovered your blog, and I thought you might be interested in my book about pugs, “Funny Tails: Adventures and Misadventures in Living with Pugs,” which I’m posting FREE online, one chapter at a time, in order to develop a following and build my non-academic platform. It’s a lighthearted look at 10 years of life with our own 3 pugs and various others that we’ve fostered for Pug Rescue of North Carolina . So far, my readers think the book is quite funny. I’d love to hear what other authors and pug folks such as yourself think about it. My website is
    http://www.maijaharrington.com
    Best wishes,
    Maija (pronounced My-uh)

Leave a Reply

