Timeless Night – Excerpt

Today, Torie James shares excerpts from Timeless Night. Don’t forget to enter her giveaway for a chance to win an autographed copy.

Timeless Night by Torie James

 

 

“Mind if I join you?” He leaned against the doorframe, watching her pummel the padded dummy with sharp jabs.

“It’s your funeral.” She shot back, not making eye contact, her body language stiff and hostile. “Least I can hope, at any rate.”

“Nim, I…”

“Sil, play Metallica.” She ignored him.

“Yes, Miss Nim.”

Master of Puppets began blasting through the room as she gave him a droll look and tossed a roundhouse kick on the dummy’s “knee” and another kick to its groin. She knew perfectly well no matter what she said he wasn’t going to leave so he shrugged and took off his shirt, tossing it aside and reached for the tape on the neatly organized shelf of supplies. Sitting on the weight bench, he taped his hands up and rose, grabbing a staff off the wall mount and throwing it at her unexpectedly.

Catching it with lightning fast reflexes, she arched a brow his way.

He grabbed another one and approached her slowly.

“What do you think you’re doing?” she shouted over the music.

“I’m giving you what you want, Nimue. You want a piece? Come get some, tsylni. Fair fight, first one pinned down wins.”

He didn’t miss the evil glint of pleasure in her eyes. “If I win, what do I get?”

“My heart.”

“That old thing? Keep it.” She paused. “If I win, we break our blood link.”

“The only way to do that is if one of us dies.”

She flashed a fanged grin. “The problem?”

 * * * *

Why did his touch still burn through her, make her heart skip a beat? “Trust you? Trust you? I’d rather take a running leap onto the face of the sun, Gawain. I trusted you once and you ruined my life. I trusted you once more and you helped kill what I loved. Excuse me if I find your use of that particular word ironic.” She shoved hard against him, hard enough he stumbled back a bit, allowing her to slip from his hold.

“If Lancelot knew, he’d hate you as much as I do. They all would! The only reason he remains unaware, is he is at peace again with his heart. I won’t disturb it for the world. So your dirty little secret is safe with me, husband.” The last word spit out with derision, she gave him a cold smile. “Let me go, Gawain. It’s easy. As for the blood link, simple solution. We can continue to provide each other with what’s needed without being together. As black as your blood is, it does provide me with the necessary sustenance. But that’s all you are to me, now. A food source. There is no happy ending for us. You botched that up proper. I have stayed my voice the last few months for Bri. For Alex. But I owe you nothing. So let me go my way!” She moved as wind, reaching down to snatch off one of her stiletto’d heels, her free hand shoving him back into the wall, mortar crumbling around them. Animosity spurred her on as she angled the heel over his heart. “Or I will kill you. I swear it. I will kill you and in killing you, I kill myself. That’s how desperate I am to be free of you.”

 * * * *

 “What about Nimue?” Gawain met Merlyn’s amused glance.

“What about her?”

“Shouldn’t she have documents as well? How is she—”

Merlyn held up a hand. “Easy, m’boy. I gave her hers before she left.”

All pairs of eyes drilled the Mage who only stood there, staring back drolly. “Yes, I knew she planned on leaving. She asked me for help. I gave it. And gave my promise to not say anything. She’s fine, Gawain.”

Gawain wanted to argue but let it go.

“So what does a former King do for gainful employment? I have no kingdom to rule anymore.” Arthur half laughed, a wistful poignancy in his words. Guinevere had shuffled to his side and slipped an arm around his waist as his blue eyes shadowed for a moment. “There is no more Camelot.”

“No. There isn’t. So why don’t you take a different path and blaze a trail, Art. Build a new kingdom of sorts. Build a new Camelot.” Sabrina stood before the Once and Future King, face lit with radiance.

A primal energy filled the room, as though the universe had been waiting for those words to be uttered. Spoke aloud, now rooted in truth.

New Camelot.

* * * *

For a chance to win an autographed copy of

TIMELESS NIGHT

leave a comment below. 

In one word, tell Torie what “New Camelot” means to you.

Winner will be selected at random on Sunday, May 4, at 7 AM CDT

 

Leave a Reply

