We’re Not Giving Up by V. L. Locey

From Christina: Vicki Locey’s post touched me deeply. Like so many others, I have lost friends and loved ones to cancer. I know how it feels to watch the disease progress, and I know how much it hurts to say good-bye. I’m grateful to her for sharing her personal thoughts and sharing her beloved “Pop” with us.

 

We’re Not Giving Up

by Vicki Locey

 

Every book, every novella, every short story or poem is special. We authors pour our hearts and souls into our works. We weep and cheer with our characters. Sometimes, though, a book comes along that is even more special simply due to the reason it exists. That is how I feel about Seduced by the Game. Every author involved is a proud supporter of Hockey Fights Cancer. 100% of all royalties are being donated to the cause.

Seduced by the

 
For me, when I saw the call for submissions for this anthology I knew I had to submit. I had to try to get involved. Even if I had not been fortunate enough to have had “Heir Apparent” chosen for inclusion, I would have found a way to help. Cancer has touched my life, as I know it has touched many of you out there reading.

My Pop is now battling for the third time against this terrible disease.

POP

 

He has fought against prostate and colorectal cancer. Those he beat, but had to have a colostomy to win the second war. Now he has spots on his liver that have him, us, and his oncologists quite worried. Treatment options are being discussed, and let me tell you, none of them are appealing. I have seen firsthand how cancer whittles down a robust man to a thin, weak shell of his former self. Yet, he has not given up nor have we. I hope through the sales of this anthology that we will get one step closer to finding a cure for cancer. Every penny helps.

 

REMEMBER: 100% of royalties from Seduced by the Game are being donated to the cause.

 

Visit the website to find print copies of the anthology as well as T-shirts, mugs, pins, and other great ways to help win the fight against cancer!

 

 

4 Comments

  1. Thank you for sharing and caring, Christina.

    • We need to fight…and to keep on fighting until this dreaded disease is only a bad memory.

  2. Hi, Vicki, it’s the other Vicki. Cancer is the sh***. Handsome had stage 3 throat cancer. He fought and won. When I sold my first story to an epublisher, I got on the authors loop and they were chatting about a cancer anthology. I contributed my story, “Taking Flight,” about my friend who lost her battle and the day we danced with the monarchs. Bless you.

    • Thanks “the other Vicki” 🙂 Glad you dropped by to share your thoughts and your personal experience.

Leave a Reply

